Hello Oh-Nine!

I’m not really a good resolution person. I can get too carried away with lists. You do not want to see one of my lists, believe me! Instead, for the last few years, I’ve prayed about one (or two) words to carry with me throughout the coming year. This year’s word was slow in coming but I woke up this morning thinking about it: Purpose. Living intentionally and seeking to be aware of God’s purposes in every moment.

But besides this word, I’m still stuck on the themes of the Advent Conspiracy that we focused on as a church family over the past few weeks. It seems to sum up a worthwhile direction for the coming year:

Worship Fully
– understanding that everything I do is an opportunity to worship God. (So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Romans 12:1-2, The Message)

Spend Less – continuing to evaluate what it is I really need. Spending implies to me an outgo that is not calculated in advance, and not an investment in something good, be that my life or someone else’s. So what would it look like for me to think about how I spend, not just money but all my resources, including time, and to realize they’re just entrusted to me for kingdom purposes?

Give More – it goes without saying that giving should be a natural outcome of spending less. Exactly what that looks like remains to be seen but one thing I’m sure of – it needs to be intentional and planned, or it just doesn’t happen for me.

Love All –  It seems like so many of the struggles and decisions I encounter, especially where relationships are concerned, could be answered by one question: What would Love do? So that’s a question I plan to ask myself often this year.

The lyrics of Chris Tomlin‘s song, Made To Worship have been burning their way into my heart as the sum of my true purpose and maybe this will be my song for the year:

You and I were made to worship
You and I are called to love
You and I are forgiven and free
When you and I embrace surrender
When you and I choose to believe
Then you and I will see who we were meant to be
All we are
And all we have
Is all a gift from God that we receive . . .
Brought to life
We open up our eyes
To see the majesty and glory of the King

So with those thoughts in mind, I’m kissing 2008 goodbye (which is a good thing, seeing as it’s already gone) and saying hello to Oh-Nine!

3 thoughts on “Hello Oh-Nine!

  1. “What would Love do?” – that’ll go great with my verses on gentleness. Happy New Year sweet Dianne.

Comments are closed.