15 Minutes

It happens ninety-six times every day. The clock ticks off another quarter-hour. So what, you say? So I say that’s where life happens. Not so much in the years or months, but in the minutes.

Last year I came to grips with the fact that my dream cleaning lady was never going to materialize. If my house was going to be clean, I would have to show up. Now here’s the thing. On New Year’s Day, hubby left early to meet some friends for breakfast. I jumped out of bed and immediately began to tackle the basics. Given several hours of peace and quiet, coupled with good music and coffee, I actually enjoy cleaning. But for the most part, those large chunks of time elude me. And so I’m learning to take advantage of those little snippets of time. It’s amazing what I’m finding can be accomplished in fifteen minutes! I can:

  • Do the dishes
  • Dust a room
  • Vacuum the upstairs rooms
  • Sweep and mop the kitchen floor
  • Clean the bathroom – the basics
  • Read a chapter of a book
  • Write a note to someone
  • Make a to-do list
  • Pray for someone
  • Open my planner and review my week
  • Make a quick phone call

For me, the danger is biting off more than I can chew, so I’m learning to be content with what I can accomplish in fifteen minutes. Somehow I’ll find the time for those other things that take hours, but one of my goals this year is to recognize and capitalize on those quarter-hours.

So how about you? What are you thinking you can accomplish in fifteen minutes? Want to become part of the “quarter-hour” gang this year? Or perhaps you’re already a pro at this. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “15 Minutes

  1. Oh, I completely agree. I tend to put off tough stuff (cleaning, paying bills) until I have “enough time,” but I’ve found that if I just take the 10 or 15 minutes I have and do *something* — it makes more of a dent than I thought it would. If only I would be consistent about using those time snippets!

  2. Boy, did I need to read this!! I’m terrible about putting off little tasks, thinking they’ll take more time than what I have. I NEED to join the quarter hour gang. Now are you going to whisper in my ear every time I sit down to check blogs instead of tackling a simple task?

  3. Dianne,

    I love 15 minute cleaning, but I don’t seem to want to stop after that short time! I would spend so much time cleaning if I weren’t married. haha I also enjoy the good music, coffee and alone-cleaning time. It’s wonderful for concentration!

Comments are closed.