A New Chapter

In about a week and a half, I begin a new chapter in my life. I’m going back to school. I have no idea why it has taking me twenty years to do something like this. Part of it was just coming to grips with the fact that, at this point in my life, I’m not really seeking a new career. Well, yesΒ  – I am! But I am not really hoping to achieve that by attaining another degree. I finally realized I enjoy learning and God has given me a capacity to learn, and it’s time to follow my heart in that respect.

I have always gotten stuck though in the search for an education path because I am resistant to the idea of starting completely over (none of my previous stuff transferred – don’t ask). English 101 and basic math are just not how I want to spend my time or my money. It seems that once I let go of the end result (that coveted degree which maybe had even become an idol for me), I was able to see that I could enjoy learning for learning’s sake.

Mostly my interests lie in the area of literature and Biblical knowledge, things I wasn’t ever really able to access during my college years. I don’t know where I got the idea but one day it seemed like “seminary” just kept popping into my Internet searches – actually I think it was the Google sidebar where they throw suggestions at you! I started looking into diplomas and certificate options. And after some discussion with and suggestions by my pastor, I decided to take some classes at Trinity School for Ministry, which best fit my criteria. Yes, seminary. For now I am just auditing an online class on church history but I may apply to one of their certificate programs down the road. I think it will be a good challenge and I’m looking forward to it.

So like I said, a new chapter begins. And with it, many many chapters of reading! I am already feeling a little intimated just by reading the profiles of the others in the class but there’s no turning back now!

6 thoughts on “A New Chapter

  1. Good for you! I’m so excited that you are doing this and entering this new chapter of your life. I think it’s wonderful that you will be taking classes at seminary. Now, I can call you, Dianne, my seminary blogging buddy πŸ™‚ I bet you will love every minute of it πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Dianne,

    Thank you for stopping by today. I’m using your comments to reply to you. πŸ™‚

    I can’t imagine not using my washer to wash my rugs either, especially machine washable bathroom rugs. But I can assure you, I’ll never buy a rug like that, that has a rubber backing, again.

    It’s funny. I paid twice as much for the rug in MY bathroom, because it’s all cotton with no rubber backing, and the cheaper one with the rubber backing cost me $350 today.

    So I sure didn’t save any money by buying a cheaper rug.

    Sigh. Lesson learned.

  3. Hurray! I’ve seen students in my classes before who were scared spitless as they started back into school, sitting next to traditional college-aged students. But it’s amazing how you get into the swing of it, and you realize how much your own life has given you to contribute and to provide context, and you start soaring. I hope you’ll have a great experience!

  4. Yay for you! Good job on taking classes, I bet you’ll love it! My sis in law started some seminary classes this past fall; she might be just a smidge older than you, felt like she was twice the age of everyone in class! She did good and is enjoying it I think. Her brother, my hubby is a bit jealous b/c I think he’s wanted to do that for quite some time!

Comments are closed.