25 Random Things

Someone tagged me elsewhere recently for this 25 Random Things meme. I don’t know how random these are as  you will notice, they tend to progress somewhat chronologically. Nevertheless I thought it would be fun to toss this out. I will not tag anyone but if you choose to participate on your blog, let me know.

1. My parents only had a boy name picked out for me when I was born. (David) Somehow the odds I would be a girl never occurred to them. I endured a lengthy hospital stay while they deliberated on a name.

2. I would have been named Kathleen (and called Kate, a name I love) but apparently my mom’s friend of the same name died before I was born and so I was named after another of my mom’s friends.My middle name is Christina. I hated my name as a kid. Dianne sounded too adult and Christina made it too many syllables, IMHO. I’m good with it now. I even like the way it is spelled!

3. I never eat the last bite of my sandwich, something that drives my mom crazy.

4. We moved next door to my gram out in the country when I was in 7th grade. My sister and I only had each other to play with and torment for the rest of our school years. We spent many hours over our gram’s though and developed a great bond we still enjoy today.

5. Our house burned down when I was in 8th grade, a few days before Christmas (the trailer we lived in as well as the house we were building). Thankfully none of us were there at the time.

6. I was a straight A student throughout my school years, except for Algebra II (long story!)

7. When I was in 7th grade, I decided I would be valedictorian when I graduated. And I was, which was no big deal as there were only 10 in our graduating class, but was still a challenge since I changed schools going into my junior year.

8. When I went to college, I decided I did not want to make being valedictorian a goal. That was an easy goal to not achieve! I still graduated with honors though.

9. I went out for cheerleading in high school because I was tired of being the boring book girl! I was not a natural but I survived because I was somewhat of a perfectionist and would practice in private for hours.

10. I have never been in the hospital except for a test or to visit someone.

11. I did not learn to drive until I was almost 20 years old. Mostly that was due to the fact that we lived over 40 miles away from the high school we attended, where my mom taught. She liked to drive. My cousin actually taught me and took me for my test.

12. I taught several other people to drive and took them to pass their driving test.

13. That reminds me of how much I enjoy teaching and helping others succeed at something, even if they end up being better at it than me!

14. I am very process-oriented. Results are only minimally important to me.

15. Over the years I have dabbled in several kinds of art, including calligraphy and painting. Good therapy for a process-oriented person!

16. In college I worked in the student activity department and was in charge of all the promotional materials for student productions and activities. So I got to do a lot of art that way. I like big art!

17. I am addicted to coffee but I can’t drink caffeine. So I can truly say I love the taste of the stuff!

18. I get nervous if I don’t have a book around. I am trying to curb my reading habits, without success.

19. I have no problem going to a restaurant by myself and reading for a few hours.

20. My husband and I met playing volleyball and started dating playing par-3 golf with friends (he carried my bag, what could I do!)

21. I went to Ireland in 1990 and visited the birthplace of my great-grandmother. I’d go back in a heartbeat.

22. I am fascinated by church history. I love visiting churches of various denominations from time to time, just to see what they’re all about.

23. I love word origins. When I was a kid, my uncle was studying to be a priest and therefore a student of Latin and Greek. He was always telling me where words came from.

24. My sister and I went to the same college, then taught at the same school (from which we graduated HS – she – 5th grade, me – jr. high), during which time we shared an apt. together. We both met our husbands in September, got engaged in February and married in October. And our initials went from DCK and DAK to DCP and DAP. And we’ve been known to purchase and wear the same clothes, often without prior consultation. I think we were twins, two years apart!

25. I’m a diehard Steeler fan but I have a hard time when we play Indianapolis, as I’m a long time Colts, Peyton Manning and Tony Dungy fan (so sad he’s retiring). I’m also a big Pitt b-ball fan as well as a FSU football follower. I love March Madness!

One thought on “25 Random Things

  1. This has been going around on facebook and I’ve been tagged multiple times there! I did it and probably won’t put it on my blog.
    Good list! I would like for you to teach about half the people in this country to drive…….there are some bad drivers out there. Peyton Manning’s father grew up just up the road from where I live now, so we love Mannings in this state!

Comments are closed.