Steeler Memories

steeler80sI am proud to say my Steeler loyalty dates back to the 70’s, when they were still champions in the making. I’m not sure how my dad endured an inquisitive little girl glued to his side during football season, but his patience earned him a loyal fan for a daughter. There was only one rule . . . questions must be reserved for commercial time. Of course, commercials were also time for snack and bathroom breaks but somehow I managed to learn the ins and outs of the sport over the years.

A few years ago, when the Steelers were on their way to Superbowl XXX in 1995 (in which they were deservedly defeated by the Cowboys), I came across this newspaper cutting in my scrapbook. If you look carefully, you’ll see the previous year’s ad hanging on the little boy’s wall.

It brought back memories that extended well beyond a football game. In the seventies, my dad had yet to come to know Christ. When the playoff season began and the Steelers appeared to be earnest contenders, he would ask us girls to pray for a victory. He promised to attend church with us for X number of games in return for a victory. I honestly don’t remember if he kept his part of the bargin, but I do remember the victories. But the greatest victory, coincidentally, took place in 1995, when my dad surrendered his heart and life to Christ. No Superbowl championship will ever compare to that day (it also happened to be the day my mom underwent successful surgery for cancer, and has been cancer free for over 13 years now).

One thought on “Steeler Memories

  1. Aw, that’s so sweet.

    I have clear memories of asking my dad all kinds of football questions too. And though we didn’t live near Pittsburgh, my dad was always a Steelers fan, so I inherited that from him. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.