Love is . . .

loveis1When I was a teen, I was an avid fan of the Love Is comic strip. I still have a scrapbook full of them, cut from the comics page of the Observer-Reporter that I pored over most evenings, sprawled on the floor of my gram’s kitchen. Even though I wasn’t exactly boy crazy, my ideas of love and relationships were certainly in the formative stages at that point, and Love Is contributed to the reality that love is not about me.

Several weeks ago in a message, our pastor suggested that “love moves us away from ourselves and towards others.” I always appreciate images and pictures that help to make concepts like love liveable, tangible realities.

I think my verse for the year, the one God seems to keep pounding through my head and working into my heart, is that passage where Jesus boils down all the commands of God to just two: loving God and our neighbor. (Mark 12:29-31). A question I’m loving (excuse the pun) is “what would Love do?”

So with Valentine’s Day just around the corner, I thought I’d pose a fill-in-the blank question, simply this: Love Is ______________. What does love look like for you? How do you express love? How do you receive love? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

P.S. The above graphic is a scan of one of about 20 some Love Is cartoons I still have. Clothing complements of my mom, who insisted that the little munchkins were not welcome in my scrapbook sans clothing (I did have fun coloring them in!)

P.P.S. The date this is posted has great significance for me, it being the date of my gram’s birth . . . certainly one of the greatest examples of love I have ever known.

4 thoughts on “Love is . . .

  1. Great post! You know, I’m not a comics person, so I don’t even remember this comic strip. Fun that you’ve kept them through the years. And very cute that your mom colored in those cute clothes, so they wouldn’t be “nekkid”! 🙂

    As for your question, I’d have to have more coffee to come up with a good answer. Love is everything to me. All-encompassing. Fills me up. Makes me complete. Is necessary for life. Is there one word that says all that? 🙂

  2. Oh my…what a blast from the past! I loved those cartoons, too! I think the cartoonist’s style is a match for the middle school/adolescent girl’s idealistic and somewhat naive view of love. On the other hand, the captions were grownup.

    And as a rough draft, I would finish the sentence, “Love is regardless…”

  3. Oh my!! I hardly remember “clothing” these little munchkins…you amaze me that you saved them….and tacked on the memory of Gram…since you read them at the “Funny Farm”. Love is………spending almost 46 years with your Dad and loving him more now than when I first met him.

  4. The man that officiated at our wedding told us many years ago that “love is action” and that has stuck with me for a long time! He did some conferences for Family Life at one time that we enjoyed. But that’s what comes to mind first for me, love is action. I think that goes along a little with the message your pastor shared, moving towards others.
    Have a good weekend!

Comments are closed.