Word of the Week: Infusion

Last fall during a morning message we were challenged from these words in Matthew 6:33-34:

Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions.
Don’t worry about missing out.
You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.
Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now,
and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.
God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes. (The Message)

I really love this word infusion. For it’s not that the bag becomes soaked with the water, but rather that every bit of the water becomes flavored and scented by the immersion of the tea bag. I’ve been drinking more tea of late, in an effort to cut back on coffee (don’t worry – it’s all decaf!) I love how the smell of a good tea fills my nostrils and somehow relaxes me even before I’ve had a sip (something coffee just doesn’t offer).

As a visual reminder, we given a tea bag and invited to imagine what it would be like if our lives were steeped in God’s truth? In God’s reality? Other versions of this passage start with this phrase: Seek first the kingdom of God. How exactly do we seek something like the kingdom of God in the first place? And how do we seek that first, above all else? I’m pretty sure of one thing: if we’re seeking something vital to our lives, the search consumes us. Which leads me back to the word “steep” and the idea of infusion. I do want my life to be all about God’s reality. God’s iniative. And God’s provisions. And ultimately I long for my life to offer an inviting fragrance to those around me of this life God offers.

4 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Infusion

  1. This makes me think that — just like we need to immerse the tea bag in water in order to allow infusion to occur, I need to make sure God’s word and the presence of His spirit are IN me, in my life… that I’m consciously making room for them and allowing them to do their work. You can’t make tea when the bag is sitting on the counter next to the mug… likewise, a Bible on the nightstand won’t have much effect.

  2. Hm, your comment reminds me of that passage in John 15 . . . about abiding in him, and him in me.

  3. Oh Dianne, you know that I love this post!

    And now you’ve got me thinking…in order for there to be an infusion, there must be steeping. Steeping seems to be our part in the deal… oh yes…new blog post coming on!

    Thanks for your comments this week on Coffee Shop… come read how you ministered to me.

  4. As a tea drinker I love the word “steeped” in this text from the Message. I so needed to read these words today – thank you for bringing them to my attention as I get ready to steep at a retreat this weekend. I’ll try to be faithful in my steeping.

Comments are closed.