Word of the Week: New

I love this word. It’s rich and deep and full of hidden nuances. On the surface, who doesn’t love something new? For me, there’s nothing like a brand new pair of jeans or a sweatshirt, still bearing the crease lines from shelf-sitting. Heck, I’m easily tickled with a new pair of socks!

And yet every time I come across the word “new” in the Bible, I realize it rarely means the discarding of one thing and replacing it with something entirely different. No, when God talks about “new”, it’s usually in context with his work. i.e. he makes all things new. Another word I love, closely related to the idea of new, is renovation.

renovate: to restore to good condition; make new or as if new again; repair.

I get this idea that God is about restoring things and people to their intended purpose, but not necessarily to their original state. And this process is never a one-time deal. How awesome is this God who is continually at work in our world, constantly renewing our hearts and lives, and restoring us to his purposes! New days, new hearts, new songs!

What does new mean to you?

One thought on “Word of the Week: New

  1. Amen! I am so encouraged by the thought that God is constantly renovating, or recycling the things in my life…making something new out of something old and worn.

    I get excited every time the UPS man drops off a box at my house — even last week, when it was just a new filter for our humidifier. I’m all messed up like that. But how much more wonderful are the new things God has promised us, and the ways he continues to make our hearts new.

Comments are closed.