Withdrawal

I have a confession to make. I’m going through withdrawal. And it’s painful.

The other day we received a notice from our credit card company that they are raising our rates. Surprise, surprise. (Supposedly the fact that they recently received a bailout from the federal government has nothing to do with this increase).

In spite of the fact that in twelve years of marriage we have never paid a penny of interest on this one and only credit card (unless you count the furniture one that we paid off in three months), and in spite of the fact that we never plan to carry a balance, my husband is on the hunt for a new credit card company. (I did warn him that a move could impact our stellar credit rating, something which he is very proud of – as if we need credit – we don’t buy anything that big!)

So until a decision has been made, a voluntary hold has been placed on our card. That would be him voluntarily asking me not to use it for the time being (as opposed to me volunteering to abstain from my very lazy habits for a while)! Can I just say,

ACK!!!

I didn’t realize how easy it had become for me to push a button and voila! For a mere ninety-nine cents, that song can be downloaded and humming in my ears! A book is on it’s way to me . . . ready to join the pile of other unread ones residing on my shelf. That poor sweater, looking so forlorn and lonely and unloved on eBay – it’s mine! All mine (just one more to the collection).

So now I can look. But I cannot buy. It’s taking the fun out of looking, you know? Lots of thoughts on this right now (’cause thoughts are still free!) Even though the restriction is a little painful, in a way I’m thankful for it. It’s making me stop and think. Before. I. push. a. button. And although I’ll be happy and relieved when we get this sorted out, it’s probably not a bad thing to be forced to stop and examine my habits in this area.

4 thoughts on “Withdrawal

  1. The Bank of Pxxxxxx needs to keep that high credit rating. Good for you in following Mike’s lead and voluntarily restricting yourself. God will surely bless your efforts.

  2. Debit card? We use our credit card (of 15 years) for big purchases and his work / traveling expenses. I like keeping the charges to a minimum, making it easier to scan the bill and notice if anything odd has appeared. I have no idea what our interest rate is really, since we too never pay any interest. I just figure keeping the same one is better for our credit than changing to a new one, which will stay on our credit for seven years! I’m not willing to live with that but that’s just me. Weird that they raise the rate when you have been paying in full, on time every month. I mean, really – what’s the point?

  3. You might be able to call them and dispute the raise in rate. Carl has questioned charges and refusals to raise his credit limit w/ Capital One business several times.

    At the very least ask for the reason why.

  4. This post made me smile. We don’t carry balances either, and I have to admit I don’t even know our rates. That’s just not a detail I’ve paid attention too. But I know that if I suddenly couldn’t just use my card (that is oh-so-convenient for books, coffee, whatever), I’d be in big trouble. I almost never carry cash, so I’d end up getting nothing. But wait, maybe that would be a good thing…. Hm.

Comments are closed.