Word of the Week: Satisfy

What does it take for me to be satisfied, I sometimes wonder? What does “enough” look like? Does being satisfied mean that I have no needs? Or perhaps just the ability to recognize how my needs are being met, day in and day out?

For the past few weeks, I’ve been stopping in the middle of the day to pray these words from the Midday Prayer. I love the repetition and invitation to voice the words of Scripture back to God in prayer. I have been kind of stuck on this phrase: Satisfy us early with thy mercy. . .

Sat”is*fy v. t. [OF. satisfier; L. satis enough + -ficare (in comp.) to make; cf. F. satisfaire, L. satisfacere.

1. In general, to fill up the measure of a want of (a person or a thing); hence, to gratify fully the desire of; to make content; to supply to the full, or so far as to give contentment with what is wished for. (Webster’s Revised Unabridged Dictionary, © 1996, 1998 MICRA, Inc.)

A little English lesson here: satisfy is a transitive verb, meaning that the subject imposes action on the object. So the psalmist (Moses) is asking God to satisfy him, not to make him satisfiable. I am reminded that God’s ability to satisfy me is not contingent upon my willingness or ability to receive.

God’s love is enough for me.

God’s grace is enough.

Christ’s death on the cross was sufficient for all.

Whether or not I choose to be satisfied is another story, but that’s not the one I want to be writing. I can most assuredly pray . . . satisfy me, God. Satiate me! Fill me to overflowing! A prayer that is answered in the very nature of God.

Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14

