Miscellaneous Jibber-Jabber

Just weird things running through my mind lately. Perhaps if I do a brain dump right here, the other thoughts will magically gel into a coherent post! It’s worth a try.

  • I tend to remember the strangest things but I can’t remember song lyrics or artists to save my life. I get the first few lines and then improvise. So you can see why I really love my mp3 player!
  • Things I do remember:
    • phone numbers. Exasperating, but I remember phone extensions at my company since I began there as a receptionist 15 years ago.
    • Order details and order numbers: this comes in handy on weekends when I need to discuss something over the phone.
    • For the most part, people’s names stick in my head.
    • It was easy for me to memorize scripture as a kid and I’m thankful I can still recall many scriptures and references today.
  • There are two things I never fail to lose when I come home from grocery shopping: dressing mixes (i.e. Good Seasons) and kosher dill pickles – the kind you need to refrigerate. Don’t ask me how but I buy these things and can never find them. Go figure! Oh make that three – can’t find the swiss cheese I bought the other day. Hoping it isn’t hiding somewhere in my car.
  • Since my trip to Phipps Conservatory with my niece last week, something has been wrong with my camera (which is really my husbands). Oops – the memory card was installed backwards.
  • Nevertheless I seem to have been bitten by the shutter bug! Add basic photography and photo software to my list of things I want to learn.
  • It’s that time of year again – time to put the switch my winter and spring clothes around. I always look forward to the money I will find in capris I haven’t worn in months! Makes you wonder . . . what’s in your closet?!
  • After falling off the WW wagon somewhat I’ve decided to go back to the basics, which basically means I’m banning the workplace cafeteria in favor of cottage cheese, rice cakes and other exciting offerings.
  • I’m not thrilled with the cat’s recent decision to “think outside” the litter box lately. What’s the deal? I’m chalking it up to old age (she’s going on 20!) She’s GOT to be on Life #9!
  • I’m reading Firstlight by Sue Monk Kidd right now and really enjoying it. I set aside another highly touted memoir-type book because it just wasn’t doing anything for me. To each his own I guess – I am loving this author’s gentle reflections from her earliest days of writing.
  • In honor of my ongoing dental saga, I’m once again in search of a new dentist!

Wow, my brain feels so much lighter now!

3 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Jibber-Jabber

  1. I was having the same problem with my cat (who is only 10) and it was from stress, not age, but I bought the cat litter from Leone’s – specifically designed for cats who stop using the box and guaranteed to work. I think it’s called something like Cat Attract – they will know if you ask them. It seems a bit expensive but actually lasts a long time, and so far no problems whatsoever. They said if I had any problems using it to sprinkle a teensy bit of catnip on the litter itself, and I did that and since then she’s been right on perfect in the box!

  2. Another new dentist? I’m going to have to look for one of those eventually, too. But I’m putting it off for now…

    And the cat — I’m sure that when Sprite stops using the box, we will decide that she has officially lived a good, long life and is ready for the next one.

    I usually remember names and phone numbers too. But every once in a while, I’ll have a complete brain glitch and all names and numbers completely leave my head. Sigh… I must be getting old.

  3. Great list, love this kind of post!

    We’d be a perfect match, you and I! I can remember song lyrics and artists from decades ago πŸ™‚ I have a good ear for lyrics, about 3-4 times through a song and I’ve got it down pat, for good. But — phone numbers, I can’t remember any more to save my life! I’m too dependent on them being stored in the phone (cell or house line). I am terrible with names too, of people I used to know. But ask me who played in a movie from the 80’s, and I can usually come up with that. Go figure! πŸ™‚

    I bought eggs on my last grocery trip, and when I came home, they were no where to be found. Must have been hanging in that turnstile at the Walmart check-out line. 😦

    Oh wow, a shutterbug! I love taking photos of everything – the dog, flowers, birds, food, everything. I’m such a geek!

    Have a wonderful day!

Comments are closed.