Sleeping With Bread 3

Last week was the first of four (4) day work weeks for me, for which I am extremely grateful! I spent part of the day Friday planning a brunch thing for the women in my family: mom, sis, nieces (11 yrs & 20 mos) and my aunt. Saturday morning was a mad dash to the finish line, mostly because I had waited until my stove was fixed Friday to plan my menu. So things I usually would have done in advance I left till the last minute. But everything turned out fine and we all had fun. I thought I’d post the menu just for the heck of it.

Impossible Broccoli Pie (my sister and I have been making this pseudo-quiche recipe for years and it never fails to please. We say it’s impossible to mess up!)

Fruit Salad (fresh blackberries made it extra special)

Cucumber Tea Sandwiches (my niece Brianna was especially impressed with the design of these open faced cream cheese sandwiches topped with long slices of cucumber) tea sandwiches

Blueberry Scones (so easy and Aldi’s had wild blueberries this week which work better than fresh) I use this plain scone recipe, but instead of grating frozen butter, I simply quarter a cold stick of butter lengthwise and then slice it and use a pastry blender to work it into a crumbly mixture. So easy and worth it! My baby niece chose these to feed herself!

Lemon Bars (a bit of a pain to make but so worth it . . . I should freeze the leftovers before I eat them all!)

So for all that I am most grateful, especially to have family to treasure.

On the least grateful side, it’s hard to explain but it seems like a door of opportunity may be opening . Yet instead of feeling enthusiasm and ready to walk through, some uncertainties are hanging like heavy clouds in the doorway. I will walk through, but right now the unknowns are overshadowing the gratitude in this respect.

Visit Sleeping With Bread to read others’ take on their week or to join in.

8 thoughts on “Sleeping With Bread 3

  1. Wow. What a beautiful spread. That broccoli dish sounds yummy!

    Here’s to your door of opportunity (raising imaginary glass) and praying the clouds blow away.

  2. Ohmygosh….that was some spread! It sounds beautiful–and fresh blackberries…yum! 🙂

    Door open and sometimes I find myself gazing back at the window.
    Fear does funny things to me. *sigh*

    Praying for the courage to face those, knowing I’m not doing that ‘solo’–are good things for me. He didn’t bring you this far to ‘drop’ ya, yaknow?

    *sending prayers and positive thoughts*

    Blessings to you and yours!!
    (and thanks for sharing your bread with us!)

  3. Yum – you can cook for me anytime! As for the tentative door crossing – I know that feeling. Take it one step at a time, you’ll get there before you know it.

  4. Mmm, those recipes sound mighty tasty!

    Say, I left a little something for you over at my blog. I hope you’ll stop by to pick it up. 😉

    *Sending loads of encouragement to battle those anxieties.*

  5. How lovely to have a gathering of the ladies in the family.
    Your description of your hesitation at the door of opportunity opening is wonderful. I certainly know that feeling. May God bouy your spirit, calm your anxieties, and remind you that he walks with you always.
    Have a great week.

  6. We enjoyed the delightful brunch! But especially enjoyed just being able to be together. I am so lucky to have you for a sis, and not just because you’re such a good cook either! Mmmm!

    Praying for you, too.

Comments are closed.