So That

Having just finished a great study in the psalms of ascent (Psalm 120-134), the phrase “for the sake of” is sticking in my mind. It’s a great reminder that it’s not all about me.

But there’s another phrase that has been running through my mind lately: “so that.” While “for the sake of” speaks to purpose, “so that” speaks to me of order. It helps me stay on track. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all the things I’m interested in doing, all the ideas I have, all the people I want to spend time with. “So that” helps me prioritize. It reminds me that I can only do so much right now, but that some things I am doing are “so that” I can do such and such later on.

  • I might be working late this week – so that I can take off and spend some time with _______ next week.
  • I’m meeting with _______ so I can get some pressing questions answered.
  • I’m focusing on _______ right now so someday I will be free to do more of ________.

I tend to be an all or nothing person. “So that” is keeping me from being a nothing person! It reminds me to stay focused on what I can do now – today, this week, this month – because of what I hope to do in the future. It also helps me discern between the “now” and the “someday” things.

Does “so that” resonate with you? I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

2 thoughts on “So That

  1. Oh, I love this. I can see it really helping me face and accomplish tasks I might otherwise avoid (for example, “so that I can bless my family”). Or to keep me moving forward on a difficult or time-consuming project…keeping the end-result, the “so that” in mind.

    The “so that”s are always there, but are easy to forget or not focus on. I agree with you that keeping the “so that” at the forefront will help prioritize and motivate.

Comments are closed.