Spring Reading Thing Wrap-up

SInce I threw my hat in for this challenge months ago, it’s only fair I go pick it back out of the ring. Did I win, i.e. did I finish every book on my list? A resounding no. Lucky for me, that wasn’t my goal, so otherwise, the challenge was a success.

  • Did you stick to your original goals or did you change your list as you went along? Of course I picked up a few books along the way, pushing some of my Challenge books back to my summer reads. I decided to take my time through The Jesus Creed, and am reading one chapter a day, along with the associated Scripture passage so that will take me through the rest of the summer. I also added 12 “Christian” Beliefs That Can Drive You Crazy, by Henry Cloud and John Townsend, as well as a few others whose names escape me at the moment!
  • What was your favorite book that you read this spring? My favorite was FirstLight, by Sue Monk Kidd. This was a collection of her early non-fiction writings, with a sweet introduction as she reminisces about the earliest stages of her writing journey. I like when books speak to me and this book spoke to my soul. I might even tiptoe into her fiction just because!
  • An aside: I did start one book this spring that I just couldn’t get through. I’m not even sure why but I was surprised and somewhat disappointed.
  • Did you learn something new because of Spring Reading Thing 2009 — something about reading, or yourself, or a topic you read about? I am still working my way through some poetry books – one, on the topic of writing poetry. Did I actually think I would finish that in 3 months?! The other is a collection of Madeleine L’Engle’s poetry – I have finished much of that book and surprised at how much I enjoy reading poetry.
  • What was your favorite thing about the challenge? As always, I enjoy the opportunity to connect with other readers, and appreciate the challenge to read on a little more disciplined basis.

Thanks as always Katrina, for this semi-annual push that always brings a big payoff! For way more interesting wrap-up posts (ideas for future book lists!) visit Katrina’s Wrap Up Post.

2 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing Wrap-up

  1. Um…yeah. You can’t just throw out “I just couldn’t get through it” and not ‘fess up. What was the book?? 🙂

    Glad the challenge was a success for you. I really need to read FirstLight. I loved the first couple chapters, but then just stopped for no reason…

  2. I saw that Sue Monk Kidd in the store and was hesitant – loved Secret Life of Bees but didn’t care for Mermaid Chair…50% just isn’t a great average unless you’re playing baseball!

Comments are closed.