Summer Reading Lineup

A few leftovers from spring (*) as well as some new ones:

Sacred Echo
(Margaret Feinberg)
*Jesus Creed (Scot McKnight) – currently reading a chapter a day for my summer devotions
*The Return of the Prodigal Son (Henri Nouwen) I am almost finished with this one that I started reading in conjunction with a summer message series at church. I don’t know how I lived for 40+ years without reading anything by Nouwen; he’s become one of my favorite authors.
Certain Women (Madeleine L’Engle)
A Two Part Invention (Madeleine L’Engle)
*The War of Art (Stephen Pressfield) I am just about finished with this book that deals with resistance as the great enemy of art and creativity. Why am I surprised to find it manifesting itself in my life in various ways?! An easy but challenging read that anyone with half a mind to do anything in this lifetime should read.
Put Your Dream to the Test (John Maxwell) It’s been a while since I’ve read anything by John Maxwell but this came highly recommended. Dreaming is not one of my fortes or defining characteristics so perhaps a little outside influence will be timely!
*Poetic Medicine – another spring reading leftover, still working my way through this at the slow rate of about one chapter a week but that’s because I’m actually doing the exercises! I wish I could say some brilliant poetry is emerging – not so. But I am learning so much and having fun along the way!

Really that’s only four books that I’ll be starting from scratch. I’m looking for a good true life story or bio/autobiography to add to the list – any recommendations? Last summer I read two great stories about the AIDS crisis in Africa; I’m looking for something like that again – to increase my awareness of life outside the US – but maybe set in the Middle East.

What about you – any good summer reads lined up?

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading Lineup

  1. I have NO reading list for summer. Okay, I have a few blog tours I’ve agreed to be part of, but other than that, I’ll be deciding as I go along. It’ll be a nice change of pace.

    Sorry I don’t have any biography recommendations — that’s probably one of the genres I read the least of, though I should probably read more.

Comments are closed.