Book Review: The Sacred Echo

I usually feel a great sense of accomplishment when I finish a book. Sometimes that’s because I’m usually reading at least 3-4 books at any given time, so finishing simply feels good. Occasionally it’s the knowing that I pushed through to the end, in spite of a less than climactic final few chapters. When I finished reading The Sacred Echo by Margaret Feinberg, however, I felt like I’d just ended a meaningful conversation with a friend that left me looking forward to our next meet-up. I was actually disappointed when I realized I’d reached the final chapter.

In her own down-to-earth way, Feinberg relates her experience of learning to listen to God’s voice in every area of her life. Likening God’s voice to an echo, she encourages readers to pay attention to those promptings that reverberate in our daily lives. When it comes to God’s desire to speak to his people, Feinberg reminds us that “God is not only creative, but he is persistent in getting our attention and communicating with us.”

She then bares her heart, revealing some of the intimate ways God has been speaking to her, words that have been transformed into her deepest prayers and form the titles for ten amazing chapters. She shares humbly, very much aware  that the God who spoke all things into existence still speaks today. She shares gratefully, and it’s obvious that the awe of hearing from God has not grown old. And she shares boldly, daring even to voice some of the aching questions on her heart.

Even as I read, I became aware of a sacred echo in my life. “Savor the goodness,” it seems God has been saying to me. So often I approach God’s blessings like fast food: grab and go and start looking for the next thing. “Savor the goodness,” I’ve heard God say. I’ve started to look over the past day and recognize the gifts God brought my way. An affirmation. A relational connection. An answer to a prayer that barely crossed my lips. The echo is surprisingly reassuring, like my father’s voice that constantly reminded me to “watch for deer” and “wear your seatbelt.”

This book easily edged it’s way into my top five and I can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s a light read but don’t mistake easy for fluff; The Sacred Echo will open up and allow God to speak to those deep places in your heart.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sacred Echo

  1. While I don’t share your devotion to religion in the formal sense, I appreciate your enthusiasm for the spirit. The inner life is what guides me. I’ve come to trust it over the years as the most reliable source to get me through decisions, diffiulties and uncertainties. We each have to find the resource that serves us best…as long it doesn’t exclude others or harm them. For me, an inclusive outlook, relative to the world and to others in my own life, one that transcends customary identities, works best.

    Thanks for reading my blogs and for your kind comments.

Comments are closed.