Summer Reading Wrap-up!

I’m really happy with my summer reading. For once, I seemed to make a manageable list which I actually stuck to, with minimal variation.

Sacred Echo (Margaret Feinberg) read and reviewed (and loved)
Jesus Creed (Scot McKnight) – currently reading a chapter a day for my summer devotions (about half way through)
The Return of the Prodigal Son (Henri Nouwen) finished and loved
Certain Women (Madeleine L’Engle) about half way through, not her best work – a strange volley between a young actress and her dying actor-father David, and the biblical story of King David
The War of Art (Stephen Pressfield) finished and loved
Put Your Dream to the Test (John Maxwell) enjoyed this in both audio and print formats
Relief of Imperfection (Joan C. Webb) a new author to me, i give this a 4 out of 5. All the quotes became annoying after a while, but I appreciated the way she broke down different ways we seek perfection
Poetic Medicine – still working my way through this once a week or so – put this on the long term reading list.
The Flat Belly Diet – half of this book is recipes, none of which I have gotten around to making yet. The only takeaway I’ve been able to implement so far is a major reduction of salt shaker use, although I love that it recognizes dark chocolate as a healthy antioxidant!

Wow, I read a lot more than I realized over the past 2-3 months. I seem to savor books slowly rather than devour them, and tend to limit myself to two books in progress at most any time.

We’re leaving for the beach in a few weeks and I’m most excited about my vacation reads:
The Good and Beautiful God (James Bryan Smith) saw this on Scot McKnight’s blog last month where he provided a chapter by chapter synopsis. I checked it out at the library, only to find out that the person who currently had it checked out was none other than my pastor. Apparently his wife saw it at their library and picked it up for him. So I sprang for it on Amazon and have been reserving it for vacation.
First the Dead (Tim Downs) Another novel in the Bug-man series that my friend Katrina has me hooked on.
The Irrational Season (Madeleine L’Engle) #3 in her autobiographical series – lots of MLE poetry in this one.
A Two-Part Invention (Madeleine L’Engle) Another in her 4-part autobiographical series, this one deals with the nature of the marriage relationships, her own in particular. I’m really looking forward to this one!

I’m already starting to make my list for fall but I’ll save that for another post.

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading Wrap-up!

  1. I’ve finally gotten Chad into the Bug Man books too. After “encouraging” him to read them for years… He started the first one a week or two ago and said, “Hey! This is a good book!” 🙂

    Good and Beautiful God looks interesting — I might have to pick that one up, too.

Comments are closed.