Fall Reading Thing 2009

Once again, I’m joining Katrina in challenging myself with a fall reading list. I tend to read anything and everything, but often that ends up to be just bits and pieces of anything and everything – not good. Over the past few years, I’ve realized how much better I do with a list for starters. If you’ve never participated in this challenge, why don’t you hop over to Callapidder Days and join in the fun? There’s always lots of book reviews and fun giveaways going on, even if you don’t do the reading thing.

Here’s the list I’m planning to tackle this fall:

Standard non-fiction fare:
The Good and Beautiful God – James Bryan Smith
Days of Deepening Friendship – Vinita Hampton Wright
The Irrational Season – Madeleine L’Engle
A Two-Part Invention – Madeleine L’Engle
Scouting the Divine – Margaret Feinberg
Mere Christianity – C.S. Lewis

My token fiction pick:
The Passion of Mary Margaret – Lisa Samson

Memoir: (I realized how much I love foodie reads so I’m planning to devour more of those, pardon the pun!)
Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant: Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone – Jennifer Ferrari-Adler
A homemade life : stories and recipes from my kitchen table – Molly Wizenburg
Ghost Rider – Neil Peart (NOT a foodie read, but a story by the drummer for Rush piqued my curiousity)

I’m reading An Invitation to the Jesus Life by Jan Johnson, which I’m loving already. I’m sure I’ll pick up a few others along the way (and perhaps drop a few as well!) I hope to review quite a few of the books I read this time around but don’t hold your breath!

So what am I waiting for . . . it’s time to curl up with a book!

10 thoughts on “Fall Reading Thing 2009

  1. Your lists always make me want to double the length of my own — to add on all the intriguing books you’ve chosen!

    I’ve looked at A Homemade Life several times in the bookstore, but so far have resisted buying it… Looking forward to your thoughts.

    Thanks for being part of the challenge, Dianne! I always like to know what you’re reading and pondering.

  2. Oooh, love your list. Madeleine L’Engle, C. S. Lewis, foodie books — I’m with you! I enjoyed the Molly Wizenburg book, but am not familiar with your other foodie ones. Off to check them out. Thanks for the good ideas 🙂

  3. Oops, only one other foodie book. I will check that one out. Have you ever read any culinary mysteries? There are a number of series, but one I have really enjoyed is by Diane Mott Davidson; her heroine is a caterer, and in between the mystery she includes recipes. And they’re good recipes, too 😉 OK, now I really am off . . .

Comments are closed.