The Look of Love

In our Bible study, we’ve been talking about how Jesus might have looked at others. In Mark 10, it says that Jesus looked at the rich young ruler and loved him. What might that have been like to have the eyes of Jesus look deep into your soul? And yet of course, he does. Lately I’ve just been spending some time in stillness, imagining the eyes of Jesus upon me. It melts me, it really does. I see all kinds of things there – from joy to tears. That look, as I experience it through Scripture and prayer, keeps drawing me back to a safe place where more and more, I want God to strip away all the pretense that stands between me and him.

While I believe that Jesus actually sees me, I also realize that many people have never experienced that loving gaze. They may be too caught up in just surviving from day to day to stop and consider how Jesus might love them. They may sit in church pews every Sunday and still not realize that Jesus cares for them personally. I think that’s part of what we offer others. When we take time to just look at others and see them for what they really are, when we can see past the junk, knowing that God looks past our junk, what a gift we can offer them.

And yet, I’ve been spending time each morning lately reading Psalm 131. I’m not sure if David was really certain that his heart was not proud nor his eyes haughty or if that was just a hopeful prayer. I know more often than I like to admit, my eyes are haughty. They’re engaged in presenting a front to others, one that protects the real me while projecting who I’d like to be. I don’t think Jesus can love others through those eyes. So that is my prayer of late: Change my view, O Lord. Eyes fixed wholly on you. Free and clear to see and reflect your love to others.

Later on in Psalm 131, David likens himself to a weaned child, contented. The eyes of a contented child are anything but haughty. I think how my eyes see others will change as my view of God continues to change, as my heart becomes more and more contented with him and him alone.

My heart is not proud, LORD, my eyes are not haughty;
I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me.

But I have calmed myself and quieted my ambitions.
I am like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child I am content.

Israel, put your hope in the LORD both now and forevermore. Psalm 131

