2009 Fall Into Reading Wrap Up

It’s that time of year. No, not Christmas, although that is certainly coming. It’s time to wrap up my participation in Katrina’s Fall Into Reading Challenge. But this kind of wrapping is much to my liking!

Suffice to say, the operative word for my fall reading has been quality versus quantity. I was surprised that I only actually finished two books from my original fall list. But of course, my list morphed as I picked up and finished several others along the way, which I’ve noted below. And as usual, I’m partway through several other books but in keeping with the contest, I’ll refrain from mentioning those until I finish them.

From the original list:
The Good and Beautiful God – James Bryan Smith – finished and reviewed here.
Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant: Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone – Jennifer Ferrari-Adler – finished as much as I could take of stories of people who cook and eat alone.
A homemade life : stories and recipes from my kitchen table – Molly Wizenburg – finished and reviewed here. Totally enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys either eating or preparing food, which would mean just about anyone!

Additions:
Escape from Cubicle Nation – Pam Slim
The Introvert Advantage – Marti Olsen Laney
The 12 secrets of highly creative women : a portable mentor – Gail McMeekin.

The best thing about the reading challenges for me are always the new authors I “meet” along the way. I realized I want to do better at reading a variety of genres; I so easily get stuck in reading ruts. Already I’m working on a list for the next few months. Planning my reading though always gives me a starting point, and for that reason, I’m always appreciative of Katrina’s reading challenges!

2 thoughts on “2009 Fall Into Reading Wrap Up

  1. Molly Wizenburg’s title caught my eye on your list! I tried to put it on hold at my library but it looks like they don’t even have it in the whole region. :v( I might just have to use my chapters gift card on that one!

  2. I always enjoy seeing what you’re reading, and reading your thoughts on books. You always give me much to think about, and point me in the direction of new books. The Good and Beautiful God now sits on my bookshelf, though I’ve not yet started it. And now The Introvert Advantage has caught my eye. Thanks for being part of the challenge!

Comments are closed.