Movies A-Z

In an effort to reduce a few expenses this year, I’m ditching Netflix and availing myself of the free movies at my local library. And in an effort to avoid wasting time randomly perusing the offerings, I’m just starting at the A’s and checking out any that look good! We’ll see how far I get in a year!

Last night I watched August Rush which was a winner. I checked out Aeon Flux for Mike and I for the weekend – a sci-fi thriller starring Charlize Theoron whom I have enjoyed in everything I’ve seen with her.

But I thought I’d ask here if a “must-see” comes to mind for you. Have you seen anything great lately, or is there one movie that you find yourself recommending over and over again? Specifically, I’m interested in movies that spark creativity or speak to justice issues. Or even just ones that might capture Mike’s attention (he’s more into action/adventure type movies).

I’m not promising to review movies here but I’ll post occasionally on this adventure and highlight any surprises!

3 thoughts on “Movies A-Z

  1. Oh boo, you dropped Netflix?! Oh well, it’s a good cost cutting measure 🙂 Our library has a few shelves of DVD’s. I have rented a couple there in the past and would not hesitate to do so again in the future. The only reason I don’t do it more is because of sheer laziness – I have to return them inside, at the desk. Netflix is soooooo much easier, dropping it in the mailbox 🙂

    August Rush was really good. We don’t watch a lot that I’d consider fitting your criteria of “creativity” or “social justice”, so I am probably not much help. We prefer light, entertaining, etc. You know me, I recommend Star Trek (and now Avatar) to every one, LOL!. Have you seen some of the Christian ones – One Night with the King, Nativity Story, Facing the Giants, etc? We like those. Have you seen Akeelah and the Bee, Freedom Writers and The Great Debaters? Maybe something like that. I remember liking one someone recommended to me, called “I am David”. Not sure if your library would have any or all of these. I’m going through my lists on my blog, I keep a list of all the movies we watch during the year, because my memory is atrocious 🙂

    Hope you find some you guys really will enjoy!

  2. If you have a good library, you’ll do fine. That’s all we ever do is borrow from the library, and Redbox once in awhile for any new releases that we want to watch.

    Our library has a ton of movies. If you’re really good, you can reserve library movies online, in case they have to pull from another library. I do this once in awhile, too.

    Any little bit helps in saving money!

  3. I thought of another one, did you ever see Slumdog Millionaire? I didn’t think I wanted to see it, but it was better than I thought it would be. Just a thought 🙂

    P.S. I like Debbie’s suggestion of RedBox. We have never used them (still on Netflix), but it’s a good deal. I think if you get them back within 24 hours, you only pay $1 for the rental.

Comments are closed.