Spring Reading Thing 2010

It’s that time again – time to welcome spring by dusting off my bookshelves and gathering a pile of books to read over the next few months. There’s just something about motivating myself through some rough spring cleaning with the promise of a good book at the end of the day. As usual, I appreciate Katrina’s invitation to join in the 2010 Spring Reading Challenge.

I’m actually going to attempt to choke down a few novels over the next few months:

The Taking (Dean Koontz) – My husband recently decided he likes to read (after a 30 year hiatus) and keeps asking me to read this one. I think he thinks I’d like it because one of the characters is an author (seems to be a recurring theme in Dean Koontz novels, from the few jackets I’ve scanned). So I’m giving this one a chance but I cannot read it before I go to bed!

Gilead (Marilynne Robinson) – A friend gave me this one and I just started it today. Lots of good reviews so I’m giving it a chance too.

The Help (Kathrynn Stockett) – Another one recommended by a friend and I’m really looking forward to reading this one. But I hate to buy fiction and I’m like number 100 in line at the library waiting for this book, so we’ll see about this one!

My usual non-fiction lineup and my comfort zone:

Crazy Love (Francis Chan) – I started this last night in the wee hours of the morning when I couldn’t sleep and couldn’t put it down.

The Forgotten God (another by Francis Chan)

The Life Organizer (Jennifer Louden) – I finally got this after waiting for four months for it to become available from the library. It’s a different way of looking at time management and organization, and what I’ve read so far has been really thought-provoking.

Self-Promotion for Introverts (Nancy Ancowitz) – Even mentioning the title of this book makes me a little nervous, so it’s obvious I much need to read this, seeing as I’m currently trying to promote my editing services.

A Two-Part Invention (Madeleine L’Engle) – It wouldn’t be a reading challenge without at least one MLE. This is her take on marriage and I’ve been looking forward to reading this for quite a while.

Sacred Marriage (Gary Thomas) – I read this one a few years ago but I’ve been wanting to reread it so I finally am.

Check out Katrina’s blog to learn more about the challenge and to join in (it’s not too late). And be sure to check out what some other participants are reading . . . it’s a great way to expand your reading repertoire!

6 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing 2010

  1. I’ve heard lots of good stuff about the Help and I’ve got it on hold too. You make me laugh with choking down novels. I’m the same except with non-fiction. LOL. Happy reading. Hope you enjoy those novels.

  2. The Help is on my list as well. I am heavy on non-fiction this time around too which is odd for me. I hope I can finish all of them. Good luck with the challenge!

  3. I did the Sacred Marriage Bible study and really enjoyed! I am hoping to read the book some time this year!

    -Ashley

  4. As usual, I love your list! I’ve read all three of your fiction books, and I’m pretty sure you’ll love Gilead and The Help. As for The Taking…well, I enjoyed it, but I’ll be curious to see what you think!

    I’ve known several families who practically turned their lives upside down after reading Crazy Love — I’ve heard it’s incredible. And I’m curious about Forgotten God, too.

    Enjoy your spring reading! I like to pick up a book while my artisan bread is baking. πŸ™‚

  5. Ooh, good sounding choices! I read The Help last year and I think I’m one of only a handful of females in the northern hemisphere that didn’t just LOVE and ADORE it! LOL! I think I had too high expectations. It takes place in my hometown, so that made the bar even higher. Can’t wait to hear what you think whenever you do read it. I heard they were making a movie out of it too, so you better read it before the movie comes out πŸ™‚

    Hope you post your thoughts on these as you complete them! Good luck with the challenge, and Happy Reading πŸ™‚

  6. Loved Crazy Love – read it in bits and pieces. The Help – could not put it down – ate it up – fabulous first book and bound to be made into a movie.

Comments are closed.