Faithful Sowing

It’s crazy if you think about it. You tuck these little shriveled-up seeds into the earth. And you wait. And you wait. And one day, little green shoots peek their heads up like shy little kindergartners on the first day of school, peering out from behind their mamas’ skirts. Gradually they push through the soil, reaching – always reaching – for the light. How ever can we hope to get big juicy tomatoes or bright green peppers from these leggy little seedlings? But still we wait. We water them. We move them into the sunlight. We even perform the painful task of thinning out the ones least likely to reach maturity.

There’s a huge difference between dreaming and planning – be it a garden or life – and actually digging in and getting your hands dirty with the work. What faith it requires on our parts and yet we persist. Why? What keeps us engaged in this nurturing process?

I’m sowing lots of seeds in this stage of my life. Oh yes, the tomato seeds are growing indoors and the wildflower seeds will hopefully emerge in my front flower bed soon. But I’m also sowing seeds of a different sort – seeds of effort on my part that don’t look like much at all. My days are filled with baby steps and little projects. I have strong confidence, however, that God alone is responsible for the results. All I need to do, all I can do, actually, is be faithful.

What kind of seeds are you sowing right now? Are you investing in some new relationships? Taking steps to deepen your walk with God? Making some lifestyle changes or chasing a lifelong dream perhaps? At times, we may not see the desired results and it’s easy to get discouraged. But we can take a lesson from the gardeners: let’s be faithful in our sowing and nurturing, and keep trusting God with the outcomes.

4 thoughts on “Faithful Sowing

  1. Thanks for a great reminder. I feel like dealing with food allergies is a new seed that will hopefully reap something for my little guy. I do it because I have to, not knowing what the results might be. I also sow (on what seems like an hourly basis) in discipline and training of my older son. Thanks for the encouragement to keep on sowing. It gets tiring some days.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! Love that “leggy little seedlings”….and they just like that!

  3. I LOVE this post! All of it…the picture, the analogy, the life applications! You nailed it with this piece!!!

    What is really amazing is that I often refer to “baby steps” when I try to move forward. Have you ever watched the movie”What about Bob?” I read your writing and have this sense of the familiar…like we know each other but just don’t realize from where just yet.

Comments are closed.