What Is

With over one hundred draft posts in WordPress and as many or more seedling ideas scattered here and there, in journals and draft emails, not to mention the myriad of ideas chasing around like kids on a playground merry-go-round, it’s hard to know when one thought has gelled enough to finally post.

And then sometimes the idea comes a-knockin’ from outside. Like tonight. Three times tonight I read the title of this draft post elsewhere. “It’s time,” I heard.

From The Life Organizer, “Discerning the difference between form and essence has been the key for me, through focusing on what is present instead of what isn’t.” And another from the same source: “It’s hard to create something new until you are willing to be with what is.” (Italics mine)

The quote above about discerning the difference between form and essence spoke volumes to me, especially as it was couched in terms of practicing gratitude in the face of one of those unexpected disappointments life threw at the writer. She realized she had a choice everyday. She could either focus on what is or what isn’t.

I have to constantly remind myself  . . .

  • It’s not what isn’t, but what is.
  • It’s not what I am not, but what I am.
  • It’s not what I don’t have, but what I have.
  • It’s not what I didn’t do, but what I did do.
  • It’s not what I don’t know, but what I do know.

Have you ever gotten to the end of a really great day where you accomplished tons. You sit down to catch your breath and reflect on the results of your efforts, and immediately your eye or mind is drawn towards something you forgot to do or just didn’t get to. So much for celebrating. All the air has been let out of your moment of well-deserved relaxation.

What if, instead of allowing our minds to run in constant planning mode, we really took time to celebrate the good? Instead of leafing through the Sunday circulars, pondering our next purchase, what if we took time to sit with and appreciate the last purchase – remembering the thought and planning and any enjoyment it might have brought?

So what is for you today? Where are you feeling contented or accepting right now?

One thought on “What Is

  1. Thank you for this reminder. I just began reading “Writing Life Stories” by Bill Roorback and Kristen Keckler PhD and felt like my writing was at “ground zero.”

    Your post helped me to take a moment and mentally gather together “what I have accomplished.”

Comments are closed.