A Cup of Creativity

Last month, my mom and I took the subway downtown on a blazing hot day and had a blast walking around the Three Rivers Arts Festival, taking in all the beautiful artwork. I was looking for something in particular, something to inspire me. I knew in a heartbeat I found exactly what I was looking for when I laid my eyes on this! (Click on image to view more of this artist’s work).

I call it my cup of creativity, and right now, it’s motivating me to “git ‘er done” . . . and by that I’m referring to the great room makeover. I can just picture myself stumbling in there early with a hot cup of freshly brewed coffee, or taking a mid-morning tea break. The playful design calls me to break out of my rut and scribble down some thoughts or images and see what rises to the surface.

Alas, woman cannot live on motivation alone. This is a more accurate picture of reality right now:

I had to plaster that smile on for the camera. I’m really grimacing underneath. Anyways, I had to break down and do the unthinkable! A.S.K. for help, i.e. “Honey, can you help me get the rest of this closet torn down?” Yes, I had to ask my husband. (I’m still waiting for his response; of course, I already know what the answer will be!)

What is it about me that hates to ask for help? Please tell me I’m not the only one!

I am reminded that creativity never originates within us. We are always drawing upon our experiences of the world around us. Sometimes I get so stuck when I face the blank page, be it  paper, canvas or computer document. I scrounge around inside myself, hoping some stunning originality will burst forth on the scene and surprise the heck out of me. Never happens. But when I relax and search the images and words that have embedded themselves into the fabric of my life, then creativity seems to happen. Our creativity (whether that be cooking, organizing, developing people or creating art)  is uniquely ours, but we have to open ourselves to take in the world around us. When we fail to do so, we run the risk of trying to coax water from an empty well.

Perhaps there should really be two of those mugs sitting on my shelf, as a reminder that the truest and most beautiful creativity happens in the giving and receiving that takes place in community.

4 thoughts on “A Cup of Creativity

  1. Truly a beautiful cup — filled with true and thoughtful sentiment!

    The community at High Calling Blogs appreciates your true and beautiful creative contribution to their community — this post being a perfect example of that.

    Thank you!
    You inspire!

    All’s grace,
    Ann Voskamp

  2. Hoping you’ll share the finished project – can’t wait to see how it turns out and it’s bound to feel great, knowing you did it yourself (even if it’s with a little help from Mike.)

  3. Thanks, Ann, for the encouragement!

    And yes, Bev, I will certainly post pictures of the finished project. I can’t wait to see how it turns out either . . .

  4. Your cup looks beautiful on your shelf, and I can’t wait to see the finished project either….and “you are not the only one”.

Comments are closed.